Bellizia Law Office
Fax: 973-743-2290 firstname.lastname@example.org
Asbury Park Office Address
501 Grand Avenue
Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Bloomfield Office Address
395 Franklin St
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Uninsured motorist 39:6B-2 is a serious charge and carries severe penalties.
The state of New Jersey requires ALL drivers to have insurance. For a first offense, the driver may have to pay over $1000 fine and do community service.
All vehicles that are registered in New Jersey are required to have liability insurance. The responsibility to insure a vehicle falls on either the owner of the vehicle, or the person whom holds title to the vehicle. The minimum amount of insurance that a driver must have is $15,000 for the injury or death of one person, $30,000 for the death or injury of more than one person, and $5,000 for damage to property. Note: These are minimum amounts and we recommend insuring for higher amounts when possible.
A driver faces escalating penalties for a no insurance violation. In other words, if the driver has been convicted of driving while uninsured multiple times then the penalties and fees increase. If a driver has been convicted of driving with no insurance for the first time, a fine will result in the amount of not less than $301, and not more than $1,002. Additionally, a driver must also perform community service for a certain period of time. In some municipal courts, the judge will often waive the community service for a first time offender.
Some stricter municipal court judges impose many community service hours on defendants if they driver without liability insurance.
For a second offense or any subsequent conviction, the penalties consist of fine of $502, plus $30 court costs. There is a mandatory jail sentence of 14 days. The court must also sentence the driver to 30 days of community service. In New Jersey, one day of community service is considered to be 6 hours long, so the community service sentence is in fact 180 hours.
Upon a second no insurance conviction, the defendant's driver's license must be suspended for two years. A driver who has been convicted a second time of driving without liability insurance does not automatically get their license back. The director of the DMV has the authority under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 to forever refuse to give the driver back his or her license, unless the driver can provide specific assurances that he or she will never again operate their vehicle without insurance.
Driving without liability insurance also has many collateral consequences. A driver must pay a $250 a year surcharge to DMV for three years. Moreover, a driver will be assessed nine insurance eligibility points. These insurance eligibility points will make very expensive for any driver to obtain motor vehicle insurance.
§ 39:3-4. Registration of automobiles and motorcycles, application, registration certificates; expiration; issuance; violations; notification
Every resident of this State and every nonresident whose automobile or motorcycle shall be driven in this State shall, before using such vehicle on the public highways, register the same, and no automobile or motorcycle shall be driven unless so registered.
Certain motor vehicle violations can cost you. You will have to pay fines in court. A conviction will require you to pay expensive surcharges to the N.J. MVC [Division of Motor Vehicles] If you have too many points or do not timely pay surcharges, your license will be suspended. Mr. Bellizia can provide experienced attorney representation for these violations. When your driver's license is in jeopardy, you face thousands of dollars in fines, DMV surcharges and car insurance increases. If you are charged with a serious motor vehicle violation, call 973-743-2220 or contact us for a free consultation.